Bold Moves, Rejection, and Open Arms…

I made a bold decision two days ago. I went back to an old novel on which I have done six revisions, and began the 7th.

I wrote the first draft of the novel in late 2001, after having received a rejection for a novel I had written and worked on from 1999-2001.
My how time flies when you’re having fun. Yes, I was having fun just writing back at the start of this previous decade and this new 10 year-old millennium.

The rejection letter said that my main supporting character, a blind man, was doing too much, was too involved in the world despite for his lack of sight, so much so, the agent wrote, that it was laughable.

After seeing a “60 Minutes” profile on the then owner of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Gordon Gund, who too was blind and observing his skill at carving wood in to various works of art, I decided I needed to answer this agent. My method was to write another novel. I didn’t know when I’d do it.

With no planning, and unbeknownst to even myself, I wrote the opening the novel, rather off-the-cuff during one of the timed writing sessions that took place at a weekly writing group that attended. Participants and myself were facilitated along the guidelines of the Amherst Writing Method. We all paid to be a part of the group.

Timed writing cycles lasted for 20 minutes. Afterwards we could read aloud what we had written. Other participants could and would then comment. They could only state what they liked or what excited them.

After reading all that I had written I looked up and found not only all eyes on me, but everyone in shock and disappointed that I had stopped.

“That’s all I’ve written,” I said. Comments ranged from I want to know what happened,” to,  “When are you write the next installment.” “I like where this is going,” others said.”

I had no idea where I was going, except that I needed to craft a positive and productive response to what I felt was an agent’s ignorance of how disabilities do not and cannot always limit us as humans.

My recent decision, now nearly 10 years later to return to this novel that over the decade I have worked to refine came upon me much like the choice to write it.

Circumstances similar to the agent’s response, of “No,” presently surround many of us writers. The economy is in a shambles. The publishing industry holds less inspiration and hope than the economy.

Yet I write.

And surprisingly I am having fun, even more so than when I wrote the rough draft to that novel, entitled, Seasons.

Perhaps it’s because that now as then, when the facing rejection handed by another, I said, “Yes,” to myself.

This is what writers have to do. And we have to be able to do it over and over to last in this business, open our arms wide and embrace all that our hearts and imaginations deliver us when those who think they know better, close theirs.

Trust in self in a wonderful and beautiful thing.

Don’t you think so?

You might want to try it sometime.

Perhaps this year 2010.

~ by Anjuelle Floyd on January 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “Bold Moves, Rejection, and Open Arms…”

  1. […] Check out my post @: the writing life. […]

  2. Great advice and especially important when facing rejection letter after rejection letter. Keep true, work hard and seven should be your lucky number.

    • Seven is definitely the number for change.
      It’s important to remain committed and true to our passions and dreams.
      I’m glad you found this helpful.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

      Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

 
